View Website Compare

University of Otago

New Zealand

237th US-News World Ranking

The University of Otago Background and History

The University of Otago is a public university which was established in the year 1869 and is located in Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand. The university was second in New Zealand only to the University of Auckland in the number of A-rated academic researchers it employs. 

The University of Otago Programs Courses and Schools

The University of Otago is divided into the following four academic divisions: Division of Humanities, Division of Health Sciences, Division of Sciences, and School of Business. The Division of Commerce is known as the School of Business, as that is the term commonly used for its equivalent in North America. Historically, there were a number of schools and faculties, which have now been grouped with standalone departments to form these divisions. The university has the following residential colleges: Abbey College, Aquinas College, Arana College, Caroline Freeman College, Carrington College, Cumberland College, Hayward College, Knox College, Salmond College, Selwyn College, St Margaret's College, Studholme College, Te Rangi Hiroa College, Toroa College, and University College. 

The University of Otago has more than 20,942 Students which includes 15,635 Undergraduate students, 4,378 Graduate students, and 1,388 Doctoral students.  The university has more than 3,788 faculty members. 

The University of Otago USP

The University of Otago provides scholarship opportunities to the students on the basis of academic excellence. It is ranked175 in the 2018 and 19 QS World University Rankings and in the top 100 in 12 subject areas. 

The University of Otago has ten libraries: seven based in Dunedin on the main university campus, the education library in Southland, plus two medical libraries in Wellington and Christchurch. The Central Library is part of the Information Services Building and has over 2000 study spaces, 130 computer terminals, and laptop connections at 500 desks. It has Te Aka a Twhaki, a collection of Mori resources, and the Special Collections consisting of about 9,000 books printed before 1801. In total, the Central Library has over 800,000 print and electronic materials relating to the arts and humanities, commerce, education, physical education, social sciences, and technology.

The University of Otago Notable Alumni

Notable Alumni of the University of Otago includes Rui Maria de Araujo (Prime Minister of Timor-Leste) and Annette Baier (Moral philosopher). 

There are currently no programs listed for this university. (They are coming soon)
Documents currently not available (coming soon)!
Stories currently not available (coming soon)

University Stats

University Stats


University Stats


University Stats


University Stats

Faculty Strength

University Stats

Student Faculty Ratio

University Stats

Tuition Fees

University Stats

Living Cost

University Stats

Avg. GPA

University Stats

Avg. IB

University Stats

Avg. Percentage

University Stats

Avg. SAT

University Stats

Avg. ACT

* All cost are in NZD